RMAG Members Among AAPG Awardees

Title: RMAG Members Among AAPG Awardees

Publication: The Outcrop, January 2000, p. 17

The Executive Committee of AAPG has announced its list of honors and awardees for 2000. RMAG members are well represented on the list. RMAG member Gerald M. Friedman will receive the Association’s highest honor, the Sidney Powers Memorial Award. Honorary Membership in AAPG will be awarded to RMAG members Susan M. Landon and Charles J. Mankin along with three others (Toby Carleton, Paul Catacosinos, and Robert Mitchum). AAPG’s Distinguished Educator Award will be presented to RMAG members Robert R. Berg and John D. Haun, as well as Ernest A. Mancini.

Other RMAG members receiving awards from AAPG include Frank P. Sonnenberg (the Pioneer Award), John H. Marshall, Jr. (the Public Service Award), and Edward D. Dolly and Robert T. Sellars, both of whom will receive the Distinguished Service Award.

Two RMAG members will be receiving awards for their writing skills. The first is Jose Sebastian Galeazzi, who earned the J. C. “Cam” Sproule Memorial Award for the best paper by an author under age 35 published by the Association. Jose gets the award for his paper titled: “Structural and stratigraphic evolution of the western Malvinas Basin, Argentina,” published in the April 1998 issue of the AAPG Bulletin. The other distinguished writer is Ben E. Law, who co-edited AAPG Memoir 70 on Abnormal Pressures in Hydrocarbon Environments. Ben will receive the Robert H. Dott, Sr. Memorial Award for best Special Publication by the AAPG in 1998. ◄