2008 – President’s Award

Award: President’s Award

Recipient: Sandra M. Mark

Published in: The Outcrop, November 2008, p. 43

The Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists is pleased to recognize Sandra Mark with the 2008 President’s Award. From 1999 to 2007 Sandra fostered an extremely successful cooperative relationship between RMAG and the Petroleum Technology Transfer Council. As director of the Rocky Mountain Region of the PTTC, Sandra was a great supporter of geosciences education. RMAG directly benefited from the enthusiasm and professionalism that Sandra applied to this task. RMAG members have benefited from the skills Sandra applied in a professional manner toward the education of geoscientists through her involvement with the PTTC. Sandra continues her dedicated service through work on the Unconventional Resource Committee, a committee that reports directly to the U.S. Secretary of Energy.

Sandra has always been a strong supporter of RMAG. The RMAG organization has greatly benefited from her strong commitment to education. Through her work at the PTTC, Sandra has fostered a foundation for education. The ability to work efficiently in a fast-paced environment has been achieved by learning new software from courses offered through the PTTC. Field trips, short courses and core workshops offered by the PTTC keep the geoscientist close to what we really enjoy; the rocks. Fostering our enthusiasm toward young and upcoming scientists and communicating that excitement is also an important part of Sandra’s achievements. Offering young high school students the opportunity to learn more about geology and energy has had a real impact on the future of our science. Sandra achieved these great results by building a strong PTTC. Mostly this work was done in the background, without the knowledge of the RMAG membership or even the PTTC participants. This is the cornerstone of the dedication that Sandra has always applied to her work.

For outstanding dedication and unparalleled professionalism, RMAG is pleased to award Sandra M. Mark the 2008 President’s Award.