Honorary Membership 2001

Award: Honorary Membership

Awardee: Edward B. Coalson

Citation published in: The Outcrop, November 2001, p. 12

The Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists presents Honorary Membership to Edward B. Coalson. Honorary Membership is the highest award given by the RMAG. This award is earned by service to both RMAG and to the geologic community as a whole.

Ed earned a BS degree in Geology at Long Beach State in 1969 and an MS degree in Geology at the University of Wyoming in 1971. He joined both RMAG and AAPG at the end of 1971 and has been a member of both up to the present. He has worked for Amoco, Davis Oil, American Hunter, Bass Enterprises and is currently with Cabot Oil & Gas. Additionally, he has been an adjunct professor with University of Colorado at Denver and Colorado School of Mines, and a consulting geologist.

Ed has contributed significantly to RMAG. He has served as a delegate to AAPG from 1986 to 1997. He was the chairman of the Publications committee in 1990 and a member of the Continuing Education committee from 1993 to 1997. He was co-editor of both the 1989 and 1997 symposia volumes. Ed was involved in the sample preservation committee during the time that it appeared the USGS Core facility was to be shut down. He held the office of 1st Vice President in 1991, President-Elect in 1998 and President in 1999. Following his term as President of RMAG, Ed took on the task of editing The Outcrop for more than a year. Ed received The Mountain Geologist Best Paper Award in 1990 for his article on Cottonwood Creek Field and was bestowed with RMAG’s Distinguished Service Award in 1992.

In recognition of his long service to both RMAG and the geologic community, RMAG grants Honorary Membership to Edward B. Coalson.