Video Impact Awards

Title: Video Impact Awards
Publication: The Outcrop, March 2002, p. 21

Linda Flis received the 2001 Video Impact Award in the Professional Documentary category from Denver Community Television for the video program “Rocky Mountain Anthology: Raton Basin.” This program is 23.5 minutes long and is the first in a series documenting the oil and gas patch in the Rockies. It features the geology, history, and people of the area around Trinidad, Colorado, and a frac job on an Evergreen Resources coalbed methane well. It appeared on several community television stations in Colorado during October, 2001, in order to observe Earth Science Week.

Some of the 2001 Video Impact Award winners are, from right, Taylor Grant (as Happy), winner of the Youth category; Otto Trujillo, winner in the Nonprofessional Documentary category; and RMAG’s Linda Flis, winner in the Professional Documentary category.

The program was produced in part with a matching grant from the RMAG Foundation, along with sponsorship from the Denver Earth Resources Library and several of its members, the RMS-AAPG Foundation, Trinidad Las Animas County Film Commission, Trinidad Las Animas Economic Development Inc, and Evergreen Resources. Copies of the program were distributed to community access cable channels in Aspen, Longmont, Rifle, Denver, and Trinidad, Colorado, using another grant from the RMAG Foundation. In Denver the number of potential viewers is about 200,000, with a few thousand mare in each of the other communities.

The First Annual Video Impact Awards of Denver (VIA-Denver) were presented in December of 2001. The main judging criteria was positive impact in the community as a result of using Denver Community Televison (DCTV) to promote an idea, issue, culture, noncommercial service or community event. All award-winning programs will be automatically entered in the 26th annual Hometown USA Video Festival, which is a national event to be held this summer. This is the largest Public Access video festival competition in the United States.