Honorary Membership 2002

Award: Honorary Membership 2002
Awardee: R. Randy Ray
Citation published in: The Outcrop, November 2002, p. 8

The Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists bestows Honorary Membership, its highest award, to R. Randy Ray for his years of dedicated service to the association.

Randy received a BS in Geology from the University of Texas at Austin and an MS in Geology from the Colorado School of Mines. Randy started work with Cities Service Oil Company but later became a consultant working with numerous energy companies and independent geologists in Denver. He has his own successful geophysical company, R3 Exploration Corporation.

Randy has served the RMAG as an associate editor of the Seismic Atlas in 1985, Chairman of the Directory Committee in 1986, Second Vice-President in 1987, Secretary of the RMAG Study Group from 1991 to 1996, editor of the 1995 guidebook on High Definition Seismic, member of the Long Range Planning Committee in 1997 and 1998, President-Elect in 1999 and President in 2000. He was founder and Co-chair of the first RMAG 3-D Seismic Symposium in 1994 and has continued his leadership role in this very successful annual event to the present.

Randy has served AAPG as a National Delegate from 1986 to 1989 and 1999 to 2004, as a member of the Petroleum Treatise Committee from 1987 to 1989, and on the Geophysics Committee from 1992 to 1997. He was General Vice Chairman of the AAPG Annual Meeting in Denver 2001 and currently is chairman of the AAPG Geophysical Integration Committee. Randy also edits the monthly Geophysical Column in the AAPG Explorer.

In recognition of his service to RMAG and to the geologic community, the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists is pleased to award R. Randy Ray Honorary Membership.