Distinguished Service to RMAG 2003

Award: Distinguished Service to RMAG 2003

Awardee: William D. Nesse

Citation published in: The Outcrop, November 2003, p. 18-19

The Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists is honored to recognize Dr. William D. Nesse with its 2003 Distinguished Service to RMAG Award. This award is given to members who have made significant contributions to the RMAG.

Bill joined the faculty at the University of Northern Colorado in 1977 after receiving a Ph.D. from the University of Colorado. In addition to his teaching duties, he has published articles and given presentations on his specialties – Structural Geology, Petrology, Mineralogy, and Crystallography of the Rocky Mountains. Bill is also an editor and on the Board of the University Press of Colorado, and was chair of the Department of Earth Sciences at UNC for thirteen years. The graduate students he has mentored have moved on to responsible positions in science, government service and business.

Bill has been a member of RMAG since 1986, and since1990 has been the sole member of RMAG’s Neal J. Harr “Pick” awards committee, which recognizes outstanding seniors majoring in geology at ten Colorado colleges. It is a big job to contact ten geology departments each year, obtain their entries, and see that the certificates and picks are ready at presentation time. These awards are important because, in addition to recognizing geology majors, they make them aware of RMAG and of the benefits of membership. Although Bill credits his secretary, Vickie Ouellette, with doing most of the work, his leadership has kept the award process on track for fourteen annual award ceremonies.

In recognition of his contributions to the geologic community in Colorado and for his service to RMAG, the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists is pleased to present its Distinguished Service Award to Dr. William D. Nesse.