2004 – Honorary Membership

Award: Honorary Membership 2004

Awardee: John W. Robinson

Publication: The Outcrop, November 2004, p. 11

The Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists presents Honorary Membership to John W. Robinson. The award is given for outstanding and distinguished service to RMAG and the geologic profession.

John received his BS and MS degrees from the University of California San Diego and his PhD from the Colorado School of Mines. His professional career started at Amoco and has included Forest Oil, Snyder Oil, and the McMurry Companies. John was instrumental in the development of the Henry Field on the Moxa Arch as well as both Jonah and Pinedale Fields in the Hoback Basin.

John served RMAG in a number of ways, including Treasurer in 1999, President-elect in 2001, and President in 2002. He was in charge of the Finance Committee through difficult times, and took steps to ensure that RMAG had a secure financial position. He actively participated in the Publications Committee and was co-editor of several popular guidebooks including Sandstone Reservoirs (1989), Gas in the Rockies (2001) and Jonah Field: Case Study of a Giant Tight-Gas Fluvial Reservoir (2004). John served as a delegate to AAPG, on the advisory board of the Division of Professional Affairs, and as an editor for the AAPG Bulletin.

John has also been active in other associations serving as Secretary, Speaker Chairman, and President of the Rocky Mountain Section of SEPM. This year John served as the Technical Chairman of the Rocky Mountain Section AAPG meeting. He also generously volunteers his time to the Colorado School of Mines.

John has made numerous contributions to geology through publications and oral presentations including RMAG luncheons and symposia. In 1999 he received the AAPG Wallace Pratt award as the co-author of the best paper of the year. John combines good science with economics, resulting in excellent publications and presentations.

The Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists is pleased to grant Honorary Membership to John W. Robinson.