2011 – Honorary Membership Award

Award: Honorary Membership Award 2011

Awardee: James C. Mullarkey

Citation: The Outcrop, November 2011, p. 24

The Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists is pleased to award James C. Mullarkey with our highest award, Honorary Membership.

Jim has been an RMAG member since 1992 and has been a very active contributor to the association. In 1995, he served as Secretary on RMAG’s Board of Directors. In 1996, he was co-editor of RMAG’s guidebook on low-contrast, low resistivity pay. He served on the Luncheon Program Committee from 1996 through 1998. In late 1999, Jim was elected First Vice President of RMAG for year 2000, and in 2001 he was Publications Committee Chairman.

In 2007, Jim was chosen President-Elect by RMAG membership. He served in that position in 2008 and as President of the association in 2009. Significant activities for RMAG that were undertaken during his term include the relocation of the office and hosting the AAPG National Convention. Additionally, groundwork was laid to obtain a full accounting audit of RMAG’s finances.

Jim’s exemplary service to RMAG has been recognized in the past. In 1998, he received the Distinguished Service to RMAG award.

Jim is also a member of a number of other societies, including AAPG, Rocky Mountain Section of the Society for Sedimentary Geology, Society of Petroleum Engineers, and Denver Geophysical Society. He has served in the AAPG House of Delegates on behalf of the Rocky Mountain Section for many years. He has served other geological organizations in the past, some as an officer. Since 2008, Jim has served in the Philmont Scout Ranch Volunteer Geologist Program.

Jim’s professional experience started in 1979 and has involved work for several companies as well as extensive time working for his own company. He has authored papers on Upper Cretaceous source rocks, enhanced oil recovery projects, field studies in southwestern Wyoming and low resistivity reservoirs. In 1993, he won the annual RMAG Luncheon Speaker award for the top rated presentation.

For his outstanding service to RMAG and to the geological profession, James C. Mullarkey is awarded Honorary Membership by the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists.